London Expo: Transformers War for Cybertron

At the London Expo today I was able to get my hands on a playable version of Transformers: War for Cybertron. The build felt a bit clunky intially, and Gamer Girlfriend pointed out some  grammatical errors in the mission briefing, but overall the game was a riot to play. From the first moment I transformed from bi pedal to vehicular form I was living out a long held desire to kick ass and drive around with the best of them.

Due to the roar of the people in the convention center I wasn’t able to hear what I was meant to be doing, and the objective point markers were a bit confusing, but again I feel compelled to mention that I’m able to transform at will so ultimately anything I have to say at this point is essentially moot. Playing through the brief bit of campaign I was very impressed with the art style of the game and was glad to see a lack of Micheal Bay’s touch anywhere.

The controls were fairly intuitive, certain actions were mapped to the buttons that any person who plays frequently would recognize. While in various modes there are different control schemes to differentiate between the various modes. While playing there is a sense of exhiliration using both forms to dispatch foes and navigate the terrain.

The developers have also stated that the game will feature multiplayer which allows the player to choose from three basic classes and then create their own transformer, a welcome addition that most fans have been craving since the days when the first cartoon was seen. Overall, what I took away from this chance to play a game that I’ve been eyeing for some time is that there is some polish I would like to see, but either way I am looking forward to its release.

One thought on “London Expo: Transformers War for Cybertron

Leave a Reply

